• Facebook

Dizifilms, 514-978-3635, 160 desautels,Mont-St-Hilaire,qc,ca, david@dizifilms.ca

HOW TO BECOME

A DRONE PILOT
IN CANADA

To become a professional and certified drone pilot in Canada,

you need 3 elements

HIGH QUALITY DRONE


You will need to buy an RPAS system capable of capturing aerial photos and high-resolution videos (preferably a 4k video, because that's where everything is going nowadays). It should be a multi-rotor design because these are the most versatile frames available and allow you to operate in most situations. It must have a high quality ground station (remote control) capable of transmitting at least 500 m. The drone must be able to fly for at least 15 to 20 minutes. There are systems available today, such as the Phantom 4 Professional can fly more than 30 minutes. There are many options on the market, although DJI is one of the most proven platforms and looks a bit like the Microsoft of the 1990s for drones. They have systems ranging from tiny to huge - a drone "selfie" such as the DJI Spark - or a foolproof SATP like the DJI Inspire 2 or Matrix 200.

 

There are many options, but in our opinion, at the time of writing this article, The Phantom 4 Pro drone is one of the most amazing drones on the market so far for recreational and commercial use.

 

 

CANADIAN DRONE TRAINING SCHOOL


The United States has its own professional RPAS certification called Part 107 (formerly Section 333), which is similar but significantly different from the Canadian SATP Part IX pilot certificate that is now required to fly drones in Canada.

 

CIVIL INSURANCE LIABILITY

 

Liability insurance is a great idea if you plan to operate drones for commercial purposes in Canada!

 

Once you have completed your ground school, you must write and pass your Basic or Advanced Pilot Certificate Exam on the Transport Canada website.


The final piece of the puzzle is a special liability insurance for drones, specific to the operation of SATP systems. Professional or general liability insurance is not enough. You should consider an annual policy covering liability risks for the type of transactions you are looking for. There is no longer a minimum liability insurance requirement, but it is recommended to consider a minimum of $ 2 million. Many business customers require that you have $ 5 million or $ 10 million (Netflix, Warner Bros, etc.).

 

Many insurance companies currently offer insurance policies for drones. However, if you want to benefit from this type of coverage, you want to make sure that the company you are talking to knows what they are talking about. They should be able to answer your questions about the industry without delay. In Canada, MARSH is one of the best options for SATP liability insurance coverage.

You will have to work hard to make your business stand out from the crowd, but with these three steps you'll be on the right track!

 

Let us know if you have any questions!

• Facebook

Dizifilms, 514-978-3635, 160 desautels,Mont-St-Hilaire,qc,ca, david@dizifilms.ca

COMMENT DEVENIR UN PILOTE

DE DRONE AU CANADA

Pour devenir pilote de drone professionnel et certifié au Canada, vous devez disposer de 3 éléments

 

UN DRONE DE HAUTE QUALITÉ


Vous devrez acheter un système RPAS capable de capturer des photos aériennes et des vidéos haute résolution (de préférence, une vidéo 4k, car c'est là que tout se dirige de nos jours). Il devrait s'agir d'une conception à plusieurs rotors, car ce sont les cadres les plus polyvalents disponibles et vous permettent d'opérer dans la plupart des situations. Il doit disposer d’une station au sol de haute qualité (télécommande) pouvant transmettre au moins 500 m. Le drone doit pouvoir voler pendant au moins 15 à 20 minutes. Il existe des systèmes disponibles actuellement, tels que le Phantom 4 Professional pouvant voler plus de 30 minutes. Il existe de nombreuses options sur le marché, bien que DJI soit l’une des plates-formes les plus éprouvées et ressemble un peu au Microsoft des années 1990 pour les drones. Ils ont des systèmes allant de minuscule à énorme - un drone "selfie" tel que le DJI Spark - ou un SATP à toute épreuve comme le DJI Inspire 2 ou Matrice 200.

 

Il existe de nombreuses options, mais à notre avis, au moment de la rédaction de cet article, Le drone Phantom 4 Pro est l’un des drones les plus étonnants du marché à ce jour pour un usage récréatif et commercial.

 

 

UNE FORMATION DE PILOTAGE DE DRONE CANADIENNE 
 

Les États-Unis ont leur propre certification RPAS professionnelle appelée Part 107 (anciennement Section 333), qui est similaire mais nettement différente du certificat canadien de pilote SATP Partie IX qui est maintenant requis pour piloter des drones au Canada.

UNE ASSURANCE DE RESPONSABILITÉ  CIVILE

L'assurance responsabilité civile est une excellente idée si vous prévoyez d'exploiter des drones à des fins commerciales au Canada!

Une fois que vous avez terminé votre formation au sol, vous devez écrire et réussir votre examen de certificat de pilote de base ou avancé sur le site Web de Transports Canada. 


La pièce finale du puzzle est une assurance responsabilité civile spécifique aux drones, propre à l’exploitation des systèmes SATP. Une assurance responsabilité professionnelle ou générale ne suffit pas. Vous devriez envisager une police annuelle couvrant les risques de responsabilité pour le type d'opérations que vous recherchez. Il n’existe plus d’exigence d’assurance responsabilité civile minimale, mais il est recommandé d’envisager un minimum de 2 millions de dollars. De nombreux clients professionnels exigent que vous disposiez de 5 millions de dollars voire 10 millions de dollars (Netflix, Warner Bros, etc.).

De nombreuses sociétés d’assurance proposent actuellement des polices d’assurance pour drones. Toutefois, si vous souhaitez bénéficier de ce type de couverture, vous voulez vous assurer que la société à laquelle vous vous adressez sait de quoi elles parlent. Ils devraient être en mesure de répondre à vos questions sur l’industrie sans délai. Au Canada, MARSH est l’une des meilleures options pour la couverture d’assurance responsabilité civile SATP.

Vous devrez travailler dur pour que votre entreprise se démarque des autres, mais avec ces trois étapes, vous serez sur la bonne voie!

 

Faites-nous savoir si vous avez des questions!